Posted on

The Dirty Heads – Home Phantoms of Summer: The Acoustic Sessions Review

What up. Thanks for checking in with us at TMM.

I recently came across a youtube video of Dirty Heads playing a live acoustic set of their album,  “Dirty Heads – Home Phantoms of Summer: The Acoustic Sessions” just absolutely dug it. SOULFUL. (I understand this came out a year ago, but sometimes great albums need to be readdressed. Plus I didn’t share MY review with YOU – which obviously your dying to hear so here goes. :P) Favorite track right off the bat… Garland. Wait, no it’s Sloths Revenge. Or is it Coming Home? Na, it’s Sloths Revenge… in my opinion. I must admit, I’m definitely biased here. I’ve always enjoyed The Dirty Heads sound, especially displayed in “Cabin by the Sea”. But truthfully, it wasn’t until this album that I fell in love with their music. (As well as the video on Youtube you will find below.) Dirty J and Duddy B have such unique vocal styles that play so well off of each other it’s almost legitimately crazy. If you are a Sublime, Pepper, Expendables or Rome Ramirez fan, you will love this album regardless. However, to those not heavy into the reggae rock genre, this album displays the bands musical talent as well as their lyrical content and skill all on one rhythmic disc. So light your incense and kick back because this album can be played front to back. As emcees/singers, Dirty J and Duddy B rippp the microphone! I appreciate this album also as a self-proclaimed hip-hop aficionado. If I had to describe this album in two words it’d be – Smooooooth & Mellow. I’m guessing if your on this site, you enjoy quality music and *ahem* chillen. LOL. Well, if you haven’t played it out already, I highly recommend Dirty Heads – Home Phantoms of Summer: The Acoustic Sessions. If you have heard it, rock it out again. Check out the video’s below… and try to tell me these guys aren’t pure talent. I just recently saw them at Festival pier touring with Pepper this past summer while promoting their new album Sound of Change. Excellent show with the exception of the venue’s sound quality, unless your literally front row, but fuck it… its Pepper and The Dirty Heads. Its ALWAYS GOOD TIMES. With that, I give it 5 stars. Check it out people. Laterrr.

**GO PICK UP Sound of Change too. I mean, be an adult and BUY it from their site or iTunes to support the band.LOL. Sound of Change is certainly a different approach to their previous albums, but the Dirty Heads somehow pull it off… again.

1020_1381936006

The Dirty Heads – Home Phantoms of Summer: The Acoustic Sessions Review

#goodmusic

 

MJS_THE_DIRTY_HEADS_02_SCHULZ_DIRTYHEADS02_30713919

#thedirtyheads

tumblr_lry6hai1n81qlk0sto1_500

 

Cheers.

AJBIII

About thismellowmood

Hey! I'm am avid surfer and bodyboarder, photographer, columnist, taking a stand on issues within the community, artist, agent - I'd like to speak with you if your interested in contributing with TMM so please e-mail me AnthonyJBiello@gmail.com. Please check out my other website, at http://handpaintedco.wordpress.com Or on Facebook at; Facebook.com/Handpaintedco and last, follow us on twitter @Handpaintedco Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

